Notices

yeah im new to forced induction, help me out

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2006, 08:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default yeah im new to forced induction, help me out

ok ill start off with my setup... doing the basic junkyard turbo set up.

90 civic si, bone stock d16a6 aside from recently replaced clutch (used an exedy kit)

STD manifold
garret m27 turbo
b&m FPR
dsm 450cc
1g dsm bov
FMIC
2.5 charge pipes

what im stuck on is the wastegate/boost controller stuff. ive searched and searched but i just cant find any info on what to do and where to go. fabrication is no problem is it just figuring out what does what.

instead of the wastegate i see on most turbos i have this hole, does this mean i have an internal wastegate? how much pressure will this turbo put out since there isn't anything keeping the wastegate closed. how do i control boost with this set up? here are some pictures please help.

yeah im a super-noob i know it.
Old 01-02-2006, 08:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: yeah im new to forced induction, help me out (AJxr)

looks like whoever you bought the turbo from removed the internal wastegate. internal gates are usually set right out of the box to hold a set amount of boost, but it can be manually adjusted, or manualy *sp?/electronically controlled via a boost controller.

you should do fine with a tial 38mm
Old 01-02-2006, 08:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: yeah im new to forced induction, help me out (yehiknowrite)

hmm, i just looked up prices on the 38mm and they run about 200 which is 4x more then i paid for the turbo, if it came down to getting that wastegate i would rather just buy a different turbo... any other suggestions.

so far i have about $250 into this project and its more of a see how much boost i can run for $300, not going for super performance here but would like to run 6-7psi.
Old 01-03-2006, 03:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member