Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

time for a rebuild for turbo..

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2007, 12:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default time for a rebuild for turbo..

Ok guys i need some advice. Please im new at this so take it easy on me. I want some serious answers, please. I have a b18c5 want to rebuild it and boost up to about 10lbs. right as of now im just trying to work on the rebuild then worry about turbo. I want to boost as a daily driver what internals should i upgrade to? Thanks for all input, and again ima noob...
Old 04-10-2007, 12:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

no upgrade needed for 10psi. if you want to be on the really safe side, pistons and rods. just do the rebuild, get a machine shop to hone your cylinder walls, hot tank the block and everything and you should be fine to make 300 whp at about 10psi give or take.
Old 04-10-2007, 12:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Also consider Cam's geared towards boost to help maximize the potential, and look into bigger head gaskets that widen the gap, lowering the natural compression of the engine, allowing you to run higher boost
Old 04-10-2007, 12:32 PM

Default Re: time for a rebuild for turbo.. (ek9tl)

what brand internals should i upgrad to tho?
Old 04-10-2007, 12:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Id recomend Eagle, Crower, ARP, or Spoon ( if you can afford it, lol)

Eagle and Crower are the two most common brand parts i see in engine buildups. they're very reliable. As for spoon, they make hardcore JDM parts, but cost insane amounts of money.

Also, it would be wise to invest in a new valve train in the engine head. Id recomend a full Skunk2 valve train, they make complete kits, but that sort of work requires special tools, such as valve srping compressors.