Notices

Too much oil pressure or flow for the turbo feed?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2003, 06:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Too much oil pressure or flow for the turbo feed?

I have been trying to figure out how different sized fittings from the oil send unit could affect the pressure or flow for the turbo.

I have had some people tell me to "watch out" which sized fittings I use as too much oil pressure will be bad for the turbo. But it seems to me that whatever the oil pressure is in the motor that's what it will be for the send line.

It seems that flow could be adjusted based on the size of the fitting, but I don't know, I am a video editor and shouldn't have been allowed to put a turbo on my Honda...

Old 10-31-2003, 07:26 AM

Default Re: Too much oil pressure or flow for the turbo feed? (azulito)

I put a needle valve from the hardware store inline with my feed line right before my oil pressure gauge. All i gotta do is turn the valve to adjust the pressure. I get the same pressure at idle but it limits the pressure in higher rpms. I have it around 40psi as opposed to 75+ i was getting before. You could also get a restrictor...do a search for "restrictor" on here and you should find a thread with someone selling them. I would go w/ the needle vavle though cause its like 5 bucks and its adjustable. Hope this helps
Old 10-31-2003, 07:28 AM

Default Re: Too much oil pressure or flow for the turbo feed? (BlueSi2k)

here https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=653778

check that out

btw, this is basically what I used http://www.acehardware.com/pro...amily
Old 10-31-2003, 07:41 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I've been thinking about whether my turbo is getting too much oil pressure. I'm running a -3an feed and a -10an return. I guess theres no way of knowing if I need one without an oil pressure gauge. What is a good pressure number wise to be at for a feed line?
Old 10-31-2003, 07:44 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post