Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

help me pick a build for DD/autoX/HPDE! GSR turbo B18C1, B20vtec ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2008, 10:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help me pick a build for DD/autoX/HPDE! GSR turbo B18C1, B20vtec ?

ok HT, please help me decide what to do with my engine!

What I've got:
94 GSR sedan, ~2600lbs in usual race trim w/out driver.
170k miles on the stock B18C1 which runs well enough but is burning over 1qt of oil every 1000 miles, and goes through a lot more on the track. Compression is ok and even across all cylinders.
Not installed yet- fresher 01 GSR transmission with Wavetrac LSD(!)
Not installed, might sell it - Greddy 18G turbo, manifold, downpipe, oil lines

Goals:

This is first and foremost my DAILY DRIVER and needs to stay that way. I like my AC, cruise control, ABS, reliability, and 30+ mpg.

AUTOCROSS- I've been autocrossing for 4-5 years and know all about SCCA classing and that anything I want to do throws me in SM class; I know this car will never be competitive nationally but I want to get the most bang for my buck if I'm doing anything with the engine. Will be running 225/45-15 Hoosier A6's. I recently codrove a friend's semi-built K20 DC2 and really liked the torque and NA responsiveness, had more fun than in the twitchy 275-Hoosiered JRSC'ed B18C1/5 EG I've been codriving for a year.

TRACK- I've done a few track days, HPDE's, and SCCA Time Trials and would like to do more of this in the future. No wheel to wheel roadracing or Honda Challenge goals or classing restrictions. I was hoping to keep up with my friends' EVO, Elise, and E36/46 M3's but that might be reaching too far; at the least I definitely want more power than my stock B18C1 has. Will be running appropriate Cobalt/highend brake pads to stop whatever power I have and Nitto NT01 225/45-15's.