Notices

Very Urgent! Im soooo close, having problems hooking up bosch relay!

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2001, 06:59 PM
Smarter than you

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Very Urgent! Im soooo close, having problems hooking up bosch relay!

Im hooking up my bosch relay for my fuel pump.. Ive got the ground hooked up, the battery hooked up with a fuse, i have the power hooked up to the battery but i cant seem to get the ignition part of the relay to work right.. Ive tried tapping the fuse into the radio power wire but when i tap it to that it stays on full time, i dont even have to turn the car on to get power to it.. I need a wire to tap it into that will come on when i turn the key and stay on when i turn the ignition... Where can I hook the ignition(red) wire too? Im not an expert for wireing so I need details as to where and what color the wire will be... this is the last thing in my install
Old 11-10-2001, 07:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Very Urgent! Im soooo close, having problems hooking up bosch relay! (DIRep972)

Pull off the steering wheel cover. l.ook to the left, you should see some "soldering" points. you will see IGN1, IGN2 etc.. connect it to IGN2.
Old 11-10-2001, 08:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Very Urgent! Im soooo close, having problems hooking up bosch relay! (DIRep972)

if you want to hook it to the ignition,i think the large black with yellow at the steering column is ignition-check it with a test light or multi-meter.it would be best to hook it to the factory fuel pump wire.it will be under the back seat at the pump.one wire will be ground,the other will have power when the car is running and briefly after the key is turned on.hook this wire to 86 on the relay,85 to ground,30 to the battery and 87 to the pwer of the new pump.that way,it will run just like the factory pump and not while the ignition is on.