Notices

TURBO QUESTION

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2003, 01:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TURBO QUESTION

I know i am a nOOb and everyone is gonna tell me to search, but i did and still got a question. I was wondering the difference between turbos if they both are pushing 5psi. Does it make a difference the size and trim of the turbo? My friend says 5psi is 5psi no matter what and i know there is a difference. Basically the difference between greddy and drag turbo kits. The difference between the tdh-05 and the t3/t04 turbo. If the boost isnt high, will hp numbers really be different. Thanks for the help!
Old 12-17-2003, 01:54 PM

Default Re: TURBO QUESTION (boostedsohchatch)

yes it can make a difference, turbo a/r ratios determine how well they can flow in cfm's

if they both are pushing 5psi at the same rpms then they should be pretty well equal in size, however if they are different size turbos it will take more/less exhaust to produce enough airflow to pressurize the intake air

there are so many factors to that... manifold, charge pipe size, etc
Old 12-17-2003, 01:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

CFM

the volume of the air

u can blow 5 psi air thru a straw and 5 psi thru a 3 in pipe... it takes a lot more volume to do same work on both

now they might both be pushing ssame psi, but at differents speeds.... wich might be a factor on when , and what rpm they can hold of pike the boost
Old 12-17-2003, 01:58 PM

Default Re: TURBO QUESTION (stierhund)

are you saying that on one turbo the motor is more stressed by pushind more exhaust in order to keep it at 5 punds... also the diference in turbos really wouldnbt be that much would it?
Old 12-18-2003, 12:12 AM