Notices

turbo oil seal blown? blue-ish smoke - wheel stops spinning

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2010, 04:57 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default turbo oil seal blown? blue-ish smoke - wheel stops spinning

95 accord f22b1 - t3/t04e 57 trim - about 6psi off wastegate
i have been running this setup for over 2 years - no probs other than usual maintenance.
yesterday it started throwing blue-ish smoke during decel, accel etc.
i have a bit of oil in my lower IC pipe and on the intake side of the turbo. i have plenty of oil leaking from my return at the turbo. i also had a thin film of oil where you put an air filter on the turbo(pic included below).

compression test a week ago was 180 across. today it was 190-170ish-175-180.
new pcv valve
i run mobil1 5w-30.
i have a -4an line with a function7 restrictor - my setup has been unchanged for 2 years!!

ALSO!!! while idling in my garage for a few minutes i noticed my wheel stopped spinning!!! when i opened the throttle in started again!!! wtf!! that cant be good. first time i have seen a turbo do that. any thoughts!!!

car still runs strong, just smokes. rings? valves? turbo oil seal?

Old 06-05-2010, 02:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: turbo oil seal blown? blue-ish smoke - wheel stops spinning

damn!! 2 days and no replies?? it has gotten worse since. any comments or help would be great
Old 06-05-2010, 04:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

definently sounds like the seals espeially with the fact that you have oil in the charge piping.... i just had this same issue

if you want to make sure its not the rings you would have to do a compression test but an easier way to tell is if you had smoke coming out the dipstick/crankcase breather although some blowby is normal on turbo cars you probably can tell the differnce between a few wisps and full on blow by ( also just happened to me as well)

my moneys on the turbo though
Old 06-05-2010, 04:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member