Notices

noob question oem or aftermarket valve guides?...

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 08:33 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default noob question oem or aftermarket valve guides?...

so im 99% sure i have bad exhaust valve guides in my 4th cylinder.

i just ordered 2 new oem exhaust valves as my current ones have light vertical lines/scoring on the stems. problem is that majestic or carland acura seem to only sell oversized guides. noob here, but is that oversized the inner diameter or outer diameter?

also i see that bronze guides are pretty affordable, but i dont really want to take the entire head apart as the rest of it is in very good condition. is it bad to pop in some bronze guides in just that #4 cylinder with new oe valves and have it be oem everywhere else in the head? i havent been down this road before and im just trying to get a probable game plan.
Old 03-24-2012, 08:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: noob question oem or aftermarket valve guides?...

This wil quickly become a heated debate so ill quickly break it down. they say bronze ones dont last long but for daily driving and not track racing they last 30-50k miles on average for an all out drag car prob 10k miles cause spends lots of time at redline.

Stock dont wear but if you slightly bend a valve it shatters the stock guide and takes out turbo and piston and damages combustion chamber, VS with bronze will bend with the valve and not do that but they wear.
Old 03-24-2012, 12:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

well i put between 5000 and 8000 miles a year on the car but only like 20 passes if im lucky. last year i only had 3 passes on it due to other tranny/clutch/lsd issues
Old 03-24-2012, 01:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member