Notices

I've decided to go with the turbo SOHC

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2002, 07:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I've decided to go with the turbo SOHC

Well... since selling my Zex kit in November I've been contemplating what route to go next. I'm a college student and this is my daily driver so I was looking into something that makes decent power but still streetable AND cost effective. I didn't want to go bottle again because I wanted something different. I looked into the performance of an all motor SOHC and decided... HELL NO. To be fast in full street trim it would take a lot of work. So obviously motor swaps and boost were next. I can get a Sir2 swap pretty cheap but I thought if I was going to swap it would make sense to get a b18c, which I know is a very potent motor. That would be a little costly though and would take a bigger initial investment. I've always loved boost so I thought maybe I could do a turbo SOHC. I had only been in turbo B's but never a turbo D. VTC Civic lives not too far from me though, so I met up with him at the spot on Tuesday night just to see what a turbo D is like. I loved it. I didn't drive it but I liked how it felt. It felt smooth. Almost like a stock turbo car. This was only @ like 6psi also so it's not like it was hella fast but it could do for daily driving at that boost level. So then I decided that that was the route I should take. It has potential (he ran a 14.1 on street tires @ 12psi... that's good enough for me) and is good for daily driving. The only thing I have to do before deciding for sure is to do a compression test just to make sure everything’s ok (only have 37,500 miles though) and to get this stupid IACV CEL away. Anyone wanna help with that?
Old 05-01-2002, 08:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: I've decided to go with the turbo SOHC (CivicRyda2k)

Bring on the hairdryer baby!!

One more SOHC Turbo in the army
Old 05-01-2002, 08:44 PM