Notices

I have done everything to ensure I dont boost spike, but im still spiking..

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2002, 09:21 PM
Smarter than you

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default I have done everything to ensure I dont boost spike, but im still spiking..

I have a tial wastegate(.3bar spring) and Revhard turbo kit.. Ive been running the kit for 2 months with no issues.. When I run the kit without a boost controller I only hit .25bar.. it is not pressure drop through the intercooler, i know that because I have my vacum line teed off the manifold, not the comrpessor..

the other day I had many factors change on my set up.. I got a 3" thermal exhaust, I hooked up a turbo XS high performance boost controller, and I almost screwed up my wastegate...

After I got everything back together I took the car out and ran it without the BC.. I hit .3bar for the first time but then it would only hit .25bar sometimes.. Hooked the BC up and took it out and set the BC to hit 7.5psi, did the testing in 2nd, it hits the same in 3rd, but then when I take it out in first it will spike to like 8-9-10 and ill shift, then when I get to the next gear it stays at a steady 7.5.. also if I keep RPMS at like 5k in 2nd and spool the turbo hella fast it will spike slightly to 8-8.5..

"I almost screwed up my wastegate"- ill explain this, well I cross threaded the side port on the wastegate so in order for me to get the fitting back in their I had to take apart the wastegate and retap the threads.. Borrowed my dads tap and die set and retapped it, fitting fit great.. hooked everything back up.. Well I found out the threads on the port are tapered to prevent vacum leaks..
-I am thinking it is a possibility that maybe it is not completly sealed since I could not retap it tappered the same way.. possibly my wastegate is loosing vacum, possibly causeing me to spike..