Notices

how often do you tune?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2004, 10:25 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how often do you tune?

I am pretty new to FI, and i was just wondering how often all you guys with turbo'd integra ls have to tune your car. I am always reading that the reliability of your car(turbo) greatly depends on quality tuning, and i was just wanted to know how often you have to tune. Thanks.
Old 07-06-2004, 10:31 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: how often do you tune? (tegsp)

tuning is not like tune up.. so you'd only need to tune once, and retune only if making modifications or having problems.. lets say you retune if turn up the boost or different turbo. the better the tuner, the less time you spend tuning. i'm still runing on cold winter maps.. i planned to retune for summer, but it seems to be running just fine.
Old 07-06-2004, 10:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: how often do you tune? (vtec.dc2)

thanks for the reply.

So its not like something you have to routinely do. You just do it once, and your good. Unless like you said, you are having problems, or you turn up the boost or something.
Old 07-06-2004, 10:39 AM

Default Re: how often do you tune? (tegsp)

BUt is that true. Because if you think about it, if you tune in the winter then driving in the summer your readings would be off or am I wrong. I would like to know.
Old 07-06-2004, 11:02 AM

Default Re: how often do you tune? (FOrSfEd)

I retune all the time but then again im always chaning something on my car.. If I keep everything the same then when the temps change I just adjust my iat offset on my AEM EMS to keep the air/fuel where it should be..
Old 07-06-2004, 11:26 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: how often do you tune? (tgreaves)

If you are using a stock honda ECU for Hondata, Uberdata, TurboEdit...etc...the closed loop ability of the ECU will adjust to changes in temperature & altitude.

Unless you have closed loop disabled...