Notices

Few questions on boosting a b16a.

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2008, 07:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Few questions on boosting a b16a.

Hey there I'm new to honda's in general but am looking at buying a eg hatch with a freshly swapped b16a. The engine has low km's (6x xxx), and when I was talking with the owner he mentioned that he has a full t3/t4 turbo kit that could be sold with the car. This got me even more interested as I previously own a boosted 88' jetta. I've started reading about boosting a honda and have a couple questions and want to have some of the info i've read confirmed. I don't have the specifics on the kit but i'll post them as soon as i know.

-I've been reading that to maintain having a daily driver and be able to run on pump gas(91 oct), the most I will want to boost it is to 8psi. I've also read that with a solid tune that type of setup can yield me 40-50whp gains. Is that true? What kind of torque gains can I expect?

Any thoughts you may have are appreciated...any common problems with boosting these cars...ect, ect.

-Brett

Pics of the Jetta for fun

Old 06-27-2008, 07:41 PM
* B A N N E D *

a b16a wont net you a whole lotta torque, boosted or not, but the great thing about them is they love to have the **** revved out of them and last. ive beaten the **** out of a b16 everyday with 200psi across all 4 cylinders for over a year and sold it at 195 across all 4.

you say 8psi? on what turbo? 8 psi on a t25 is a hell of a lot different than 8 psi on a gt35.

i would get the car after doing a compression test and ONLY after doing a compression test and possibly a leakdown. anyone can say the motor is fresh, but its possible that the motor is tired and that "turbo kit" was at one time on the motor.

as far as a turbo, stock internaled b16, ive seen one make 600whp, ive seen one make 250whp. it all depends on how long you want it to last. common sense.