Notices

Crank Case Ventaltion questions...

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008, 07:52 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crank Case Ventaltion questions...

OK i dont own a honda but no one on my boards have ventured where i am going so i have some questions for experienced folks. I need to design some sort of crank case ventalation for my Mazda KL V6.

I guess my first question is how many vents do i need per valve cover, as i have 2 heads. I see most set ups on here involve 2 on four cylinders but do i really need to run 4 lines of crank case ventalation or can i just get away with one -10 or so per head?

Next what about the baffleing under the valve cover or is there any baffleing necissary. I know on my stock valve cover there are baffles but when extra bungs are welded in are you providing baffling for them or is it just left open?

Lastly i guess is placement, is there a specific place where the vents need to be placed or what? To i would think they need to be placed in some certain place but again i am unsure.

i appreciate the help from you guys. Thanks in advance

Jarod
Old 12-28-2008, 09:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Crank Case Ventaltion questions...

all of the info used for our 4 cyl engines will be pretty much the same for you. it doesnt matter if you have one head or 4 heads your venting the crankcase, which you, like us only have one. if you weld the bungs on the vc where there is already baffling you wont need more baffling. and yes you can run 1 line from each vc or 2 from just one side because the pressure your venting is coming from the same place.
Old 12-28-2008, 02:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts