Notices

AVC-R Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2001, 12:59 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AVC-R Tuning

Hi all,

I was wondering what some people are setting their A'PEXi AVC-R's too, I’m currently tuning mine trying to get a quicker spool up (if possible) and a daily driver of 10psi (somewhat there) and race of 12psi modes (haven’t started yet) admittedly I am a newbie at tuning this thing so any tips will be appreciated.

Currently I have the AVC-R set to:
.70kg/cm2 boost (flat line)
from 3000-5500 85% duty and from 5500+ at 70% duty
the start duty settings are all 0% and the learn gear is on for all gears and the F/B speed is 3 all across

The Ne-Points start at 3000 and go to 7500, before I had the Ne-Points starting around 2000 and it doesn’t seem to have changed much on spool up since I went a little higher on ne-points to see if it helped increase the spool up time..

here are the quick car specs
DRAG g3 on a Civic y7 block/tranny w/ y8 head/im/ecu
TiAL 35mm Wastegate with a .3bar spring (i think)
AVC-R for boost
SAFC/MF2 for fuel

On low rpms if you tap the throttle it goes to 0psi from the vacuum immediately..
if you give it full throttle it will start to really spool around 3000rpm (always has even before i set the ne-point higher and when i was running the complete y7 at 7psi) and around 4000rpm its at ~5psi and by 5000rpm its at full boost 10psi (most of the time)

Sometimes it doesn’t quite reach .7 but more like .65kg/cm2 of boost and sometimes under a real heavy load it will spike a bit to .73kg/cm2

I’ve read through the manual a few times and I’ve been messing with this thing off and on for quite awhile.. it works now but I’m wondering how I can improve the spool up and maybe make a catalog of "optimal" settings/tuning guide for this wonderful yet complicated little device.

Thanks,
-Chris
Old 09-01-2001, 12:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: AVC-R Tuning (s14TurboCivic)