Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Wheel Stud Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2003, 02:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheel Stud Replacement

I've been reading and have found a ton of info on replacing wheel studs.

I can't do the grinding thing because there isn't enough clearance.

I have the caliper and rotor off, but I need to know how to remove the thing that the studs are set in (hub?). Please help me to know how to remove this.

I'm new at this, so please be detailed.

Thanks!
Old 07-26-2003, 05:47 PM

Default Re: Wheel Stud Replacement (Philip)

No replys but that's ok because this is what i did. I yelled SCREW IT!!! I'm bringing it to a shop Thursday and saying replace two on this side and one on that side, replace this CV boot and axle, and here is my credit card...

I don't even care anymore, replacing brake pads isn't supposed to take 8 hours.

Do you guys find that if you over torque stock lugs, they screw all up?
Old 07-26-2003, 05:54 PM
Honda-Tech Member

so you read my wheel stud howto... why not go spend $20 on a dremel rather than $90 at the tire shop? Whatever, its your money... Also yes, always torque lug nuts to 80ft lbs.
Old 07-26-2003, 05:55 PM

Default Re: Wheel Stud Replacement (toolowsol)

Shop charged me $32 to press two lug nuts in. Not a bad deal if you ask me.
Old 07-26-2003, 06:00 PM

Default Re: Wheel Stud Replacement (toolowsol)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by toolowsol &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">so you read my wheel stud howto... why not go spend $20 on a dremel rather than $90 at the tire shop? Whatever, its your money... Also yes, always torque lug nuts to 80ft lbs.</TD></TR></TABLE>

got a dremel. there isn't enough clearance back there to put the studs in. there isn't a recess position that people are talking about (at 6 o'clock) this an EJ8

I read a wheel stud how to, where's yours?