Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Turbo questions on a d-series

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2004, 10:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo questions on a d-series

Ok, bare with me, Im a newbie when it comes to Honda's. I've tinkered around with the 1st gen DSM's for years but this Honda game has left me with questions, and trust me I've searched.

For starters, I've heard through the grapevine a dsm exhaust mani would bolt up to a honda head, is this true and will it bolt up to a y7? If not whats the cheapest, best bang for the buck turbo ex mani money can buy when using a t-25. I already know I can get an adapter plate from Homemadeturbo.com

Second, what on earth is charge piping? I see all these posts about turbo kits coming with a charge pipe, not sure what that is.

Third, I have some 450's laying around the garage, are these strictly bolt on's using the y7 fuel rail and head? Is the stock FPR able to be utilized? I plan on using the FMU to control fuel. Is a aftermarket fuel pump necessary?

I only plan on boosting 5-6 psi on the stock y7, Im assuming this is safe. My question is though is it beneficial to have a y8 intake mani or can i stick with the y7 intake mani. As far as plumbing goes it would be easier to have the y8 intake mani but if i dont need it thats fine.

While we are on the subject of y8 ex mani, why is it necessary to have a y8 auto mani? And this IACV, not to sure what it is, my guess (idle air control valve?). Anyway, whats the big deal between it on the y7's and the y8's and why does everyone make such a big deal out of it when swapping manifolds?

As far as the current componets I have for my turbo setup they include:
t25
1g bov
450 cc inj
fmic
And im going to buy the fmu and piping here soon, I just need some help from you guys.