Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

sway bar sizing? someone help!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2019, 09:51 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sway bar sizing? someone help!!

I have a 97 civic dx coupe that I'm getting the EX LCA so I can run front and rear sway bars, what's a good size? i plan on getting an asr brace for the rear to prevent tearing and they look pretty cool lol. I'm not sure if their is any other benefit other then preventing tearing if so could someone inform me? I'm new to this. but what would be a good size that I dont have to worry about ruining the car. my car will be a DD that I can have fun with. I have function and form type 1 coil overs if that makes a difference. thanks in advance, you guys are always helping me out tons.
Old 04-25-2019, 03:05 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 615 Likes on 487 Posts
Default Re: sway bar sizing? someone help!!

Well you really only have two choices for the front, the 22mm or the 26mm from an Si. The Si one requires either Si endlinks/shock forks/LCAs or to be drilled out and used with last gen prelude end links. The latter option gives less than ideal geometry. For a street car setup this is my favorite front bar for “ek” chassis. It allows you to keep some bump compliance in the front end and still have good turn-in and fairly flat cornering. Super stiff spring no front bar setups can work well on track cars but ride and drive like **** on street tires in my opinion.

Rear bar-wise, sky is the limit as long as you are braced up. 22mm is plenty for most street setups but there are sizes all the way from 14mm up to 32mm tubular bars. Anything besides the stock Si 14mm rear will require some sort of aftermarket end link to mount properly and have good geometry.