Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

noob shifting questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2007, 12:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default noob shifting questions

hi. i'm a new stick shift driver and i had a few questions about how to drive stick correctly. i have a 98 civic ex and i've been driving stick for about a 2-3 months and i've noticed that my gas drops pretty quick. i'm pretty sure 20 dollars 3/4 tank is supposed to get me more than 115 miles. but for some reason, the gas gets killed really quick.

another question i have is when im in neutral slowing down at 20 mph, the traffic begins to pick up, so i shift to second gear and the car jerks a little bit, with that feeling like as if something was being forced in. i been experimenting with this and noticed that even if i shift into third, the car makes the sound like i don't have enough gas and accelerates really slowly.

another question is...when exactly am i supposed to shift into 1st gear? because sometimes when the car is rolling at like 5-10 mph, i try to shift back into 1st gear and the car jerks and revs real hard. but when i shift to 2nd, it makes that sound like it doesn't have enough gas.

last question: why is it when i shift into 1st gear, it sometimes won't go in, so i have to let go of clutch and step on it again in order to shift into first. this isn't a problem, but when i have to do this when traffic goes, it gets kind of irritating, especially when people behind are honking.

btw, i tried using the recommended shift points in the manual, but these all didn't work.
the shift points were something like
1st to 2nd: 15
2nd to 3rd: 27
3rd to 4th: 39
4th to 5th: forgot if there is one.

thanks
Old 05-04-2007, 01:15 AM

Default Re: noob shifting questions (sz9182)