Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

No start. Have spark, gas, and air.

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2012, 01:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 No start. Have spark, gas, and air.

My 95 Honda Civic Ex with a d16z6, it is completely stock and is having problems starting. I recently changed the o2 sensor, throttle body gasket, cleaned the IACV and Thermo Valve. It just passed smog about 3 days ago and yesterday I started having this problem. The fuel pump is starting, I have gas at the fuel filter, I am getting spark and there is air. The only thing I could think of is the timing belt might of skipped a couple of teeth but I have no experience with Hondas. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated, Thanks!
Old 01-16-2012, 01:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: No start. Have spark, gas, and air.

Check and make sure you are getting compression, and make sure your are getting power at the injectors with a multimeter, and if you are make sure that they are indeed firing. Any CEL?
Old 01-16-2012, 01:15 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Would compression be bad if I just passed smog? I'll check it anyways, and I'll check the injectors as well. I don't have any CEL's.
Old 01-16-2012, 01:53 PM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

What color is the spark?
Old 01-16-2012, 01:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

The spark is blue. Also, it sounds like it wants to start but it will just sputter and the engine will just keep turning.
Old 01-16-2012, 02:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts

Originally Posted by eg_monster
The spark is blue.
Blue spark is weak spark. Test the coil.
Old 01-16-2012, 03:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I thought a yellow/orange spark was weak and white/blue spark is strong?

Make sure your injectors are working, do compression test, check valve timing, make sure there is spark at all 4 cylinders.
Old 01-16-2012, 03:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member