Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New Member, Need Some Help, New To The Honda Seen. Possibly Blown Head Gasket.

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2010, 12:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member, Need Some Help, New To The Honda Seen. Possibly Blown Head Gasket.

Hello Everyone Im New To The Honda World, My Name Is Joel From San Diego. i Drive a 1995 Civic EX d16yz

While I Was Doing A Compression Test With My Dad, In Cylinder #2 Coolant Squirted Out. We Removed The Valve Cover Gasket And To Are Surprise There Was NO Coolant In The Oil.

Prior To Checking The Compression, The Car Ran Fine, At Times It Had Trouble Starting But After That It Started and Ran Very Good. But At Times Below 3K RPM's It would run a little sluggish, Other Then That The Car Ran Very Good.

So My Main question Is Can it Just be a Head Gasket? Also if it was Just A Head Gasket, Do You Have To Rebuild The Head, Prior To Changing The Head Gasket? Also Can You Reuse The Studs Or Do You Need To Buy New Ones?

Any Thoughts Or Suggestions Would Be Gladly Appreciated.

P.S If Any One Has Any Links To Step By Step 95 CIVIC ex Head Removal That Would Also be Greatly Appreciated.

Last edited by Vtec95619; 05-06-2010 at 12:09 PM. Reason: spelling
Old 05-06-2010, 12:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: New Member, Need Some Help, New To The Honda Seen. Possibly Blown Head Gasket.

After you pull the head, you need to check for warpage and, if warped, it has to be milled flat by a shop, assuming the warpage is not severe. Besides replacing the gasket, also replace the head bolts and torque them precisely as recommended in the service manual.

Old 05-06-2010, 12:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New Member, Need Some Help, New To The Honda Seen. Possibly Blown Head Gasket.

Welcome to the gonda world. Sorry to hear under such unfortunate circumstances.