Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

To have A/C or not?

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2010, 10:11 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 To have A/C or not?

Whats up gentlemen,

im in a bit of a rut, and i need some advice.

Im doing a b series swap into my 95 civic, now my car stock does not have A/C.. and after driving in this humidity lately ive decided i want to install A/C in my car..

Since im doing a swap i figured i could add this in during the install. Is this a simple process?? & what stuff would be required if i wanted to put A/C in?

This wont be a track car, this will be a DD
i know i will sacrifice some HP with A/C, but is it a great loss in HP?
I might boost this motor in a couple of years, would this be an issue when the time comes?

sorry if this is a noob question boys but i have never done anything like this before so i figured i might as well ask.

i appreciate any input thanks!
Old 08-31-2010, 08:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: To have A/C or not?

I'm in the process of installing A/C in my car right now. I had some issues because I tried to mix and match R134a and R12 parts, which are different. Go to the junk yard, find a 94-95 Civic (has R134a system, 92-93 has R12 system) and get the entire system. You can get a R12 system and retrofit the low and high side connections, but make sure and use Ether compressor oil because there will still be a little bit of the old oil in the system. You'll need to replace the receiver dryer.
Old 08-31-2010, 08:06 PM
MiG-21 superfan

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by italian_virus
Whats up gentlemen,

im in a bit of a rut, and i need some advice.

Im doing a b series swap into my 95 civic, now my car stock does not have A/C.. and after driving in this humidity lately ive decided i want to install A/C in my car..