Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Uber-Newbie Questions.

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2002, 11:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Uber-Newbie Questions.

So, I am totally new to the performance tuning scene, and the car modification scene in general, so I have a ton of questions. I don't have much hands-on experience with cars, but I did just finish an automotive textbook and think that I have a decent grasp of the concepts. Also, from some earlier post's suggestion, I ordered 'Civic Duty' from amazon. If you know of any other good books/websites for a beginner, let me know.

Anyway, I just picked up a 98 Civic EX coupe, and was interested in performing a series of mods as budget and skill allow, hopefully working up to an engine swap and/or a turbo. The problem is, I am not sure what, how expensive, nor how difficult it would be to install each mod, be it aesthetic or performance oriented. I would prefer to do the mods myself to learn about my car, but I realize that there are some things that are just better left to a real professional with the right tools (painting). So I guess my question is, what mods would you all recommend for a newbie just starting, based on both ease of installation, cost, and bang (be it horsepower, torque, looks, or sound) for buck?

Bring on the standard n00b flames
Old 10-02-2002, 12:00 PM
Unceasing Measure

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Uber-Newbie Questions. (slyph777)

hmmm...you've turned to the professionals for advice, good first step

if you want to spend money on the engine that's already in there, a cold-air intake (CAI) from AEM is about as easy as it gets. after that, an exhaust would be the most logical, and the next easiest. a header (singular, remember that) would be fine too, as it's just a few bolts on the cat/b-pipe and manifold...it's just harder to get to than, say, an intake.