Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

GS-R advise

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2011, 06:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GS-R advise

Hey guys and gals. Im a new member to the site however i have been able to use some peoples pictures to help me lower my car and do some other things to it. Its a lot better than some of the other blogs i have seen.

So im new to the site, im new to building motors, however, im not really new to the car scene. I've raced go karts and tried the local short track scene just ran out of money. so im not car stupid persay just never built a motor... and this will change

i have a little car club on the rise in my hometown and im ready to build my civic up, I just recently bought a gsr block which i will have it at the machine shop to get it all pretty and cleaned up, no scaring or cracks but im going to have it bored, honed and decked. its going in a 2000 SI( so there is the background on it)

the build will be a brian crower stroker kit right from the website. everything i need: crank, bearings, custom rods and pistons. heres what i need help with (besides finding the torque specs for the rebuild) what would you guys go with. i want to try and get somwhere in the ball park of 11.5:1 comp ratio. Would you use 84mm pistons on a vtec head and have to get the blocked sleeved, or go with 82mm pistons to get away from the sleeves right.

again im still learning and waiting for all the knowledge for this build, any info would be great im eager to learn and read what needs to be read.

just wanted to get some advice from people who know what there talking about!!
Old 04-21-2011, 06:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: GS-R advise

It depends on what your long term/overall goal is for the car. I'm assuming since you are going higher compression you are probably staying naturally aspirated?
Old 04-21-2011, 07:44 PM
Crazy Honda Guy

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts