Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Brake line broken, now what ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2009, 05:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake line broken, now what ?

So I was swapping the rear trailing arms with two cars (wanted to put rear disk on my car, and put my drums on the other one).

All went well except for on one of the corners, when I was undoing the nut to the brake line, it was seized to the actual line itself, so it turned the whole line when I turned that nut, so it twisted and broke.

So, what are my options here? I have decent experience with working on cars (but I'm no pro for sure) but I just don't know what to do. I want to try to fix it at home if possible to save $, but if towing it to a mechanic is my best option then I don't mind doing that.

Like the line is too short now, and it needs that end piece. I *really* hope I don't have to replace the whole line, that's a huge pain in the *** (and probably $$ right?)..

Thanks so much for any help.
Old 06-30-2009, 05:32 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Brake line broken, now what ?

Buy a new brake line and put it on
Old 06-30-2009, 05:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by ej6.sean
Buy a new brake line and put it on
Is there no other way? The brake line goes straight from there to the engine bay right, so it would be a huge pain?

Can I get one pre-bend for a Civic at an auto parts store or how does it work ?
Old 06-30-2009, 05:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

go to napa and get a little like 6in piece of brake line( or whatever length you need) bend it up, and you should be good to go.

never done one on a honda so i dont know sizes off the top of my head, but should be 3/16's line i think with 3/16 line nuts.

hope this helps
Old 06-30-2009, 07:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

is there any way you could cut and reflare it? or is it way short?
Old 06-30-2009, 08:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member