Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97ek problems, please help.

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 06:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97ek problems, please help.

Hello to all:

I am new to honda tech and have a questions maybe someone can shed some light, let me explain……

I have a 97 4dr ek

I swapped the motor to a jspec D16a, it has the y8 manifold, headers and intake, that’s it.

I am currently having these issue that I did not have before.

1. cold start rough idel, seems like it has cams and feels like its going to turn off, after 2-5 minutes idle returns to normal.

2. driving regaulary sometimes the car bogs out when shifting. For example you hit first say 2k to 4k (shift) normally it will go down to 3k. It goes to about 2.5k, feels hard on the accelerator like enot enough air, sputters, shakes and continues. After you hit 4.5 it feel as if you hit vtec,but I don’t hit vtec until 5.2, stock p28

3. while driving on the high way I get a hesistation, moving back and forth on the engine, earthquake type and you feel it hard.

4. while cord starting, after the fuel gauge goes before 1/2 tank it harder to start car, and problem persist while the tank gets more empty, the engine crranks, untill it turns on. (can this be caused by dented gas tank, dent is along the entire length of the tank)

I have checked all the sensors, all the wiring, last thing I am going to do is hook it up to hondata

Can someone please help.
Old 10-26-2009, 07:00 AM
Colonel Cake Mix

Default Re: 97ek problems, please help.

first off any cels?

well #1 could be your cold start valve or FITV i think thats what its called, someone correct me if im wrong.

#4 could be a fuel pump if its not priming correctly... when you turn the key you should here something turn on for a second or so and turn off, thats fuel pump, listen for it and see if it makes any weird sounds, you might just have to prime it a couple times before you turn the car on