Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

2000 Civic VP Engine swap questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2012, 10:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Civic VP Engine swap questions

So, I am new to the Honda world (mostly a background in German engineering) and need to swap out the engine in my 2000 Civic VP. It has the D16Y7 engine, and I have found a few engines available with low miles on ebay (imported from Japan). My questions is, with these swaps should I be looking for anything in particular? Is the Japanese D16Y7 set up any differently? Will it be a direct swap, or will I have to swap any parts from the old engine, etc...

I am not a stranger to turning a wrench, and will be doing this work myself, but need a heads up on what to look for. Should I plan on replacing anything before the new engine goes in? I was planning on doing plugs, wires, belts, etc. but do I need to do things like the waterpump/thermo?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, and if I am in the wrong forum and this would be better suited somewhere else, please let me know! Thanks in advance!

Here is a link to the engine/supplier I am looking at.
<Edited to remove dead link - see 4th post on 1st page for updated link>

Last edited by dstockbridge; 01-28-2012 at 10:58 AM.
Old 01-28-2012, 10:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 2000 Civic VP Engine swap questions