Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Weirdest of all things: i can't pass inspection in PA for an Accord 1999..Please read (code is P0420

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2004, 11:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weirdest of all things: i can't pass inspection in PA for an Accord 1999..Please read (code is P0420

right now my car does not have a PA sticker for inspection... (due about 3 months ago)... I really need help... here is the whole story guys...

Car 1999 Accord

81,000K - My cousin takes the car and puts diesel in the engine
- I just drain the diesel out myself and run the car with highest octane rating of gas for about 3 weeks, and it just works fine

89,000K - My converter starts to making this awful sound as if there was a rock in there so i had to change it... mind you, i think i bought an OEM (Honda Proprietery is almost double i earn for a living in a month)....

- My car during these times was registered in Maryland... and every year that i went there all i had to do was unplug the battery to reset the light, and wallah, it did its miracle...

98,000K - i register my car in PA... fail emission test... just fails miserably at first instance (don't really know exactly what happened)

Now- car is 100,000K - first the engine completely cuts off sometimes in very hot days ( has done that about twice or so on highways, and i know when i think it fails because it fires back while driving it consistently) ... OH I FORGOT, the firing back started right after the whole sagga with the diesel was dealt with. But it never cut off until this summer rolled around, and when i am usually on idle cruise while forexample, i am going a downhill and no gas do i apply from the pedal, it cuts off..... (i have had to find shade to park it so that it would be cool)
-- I HAVE NOT changed my fuel filter yet but am reading about it right now...
- I just learned how to get the code without having to pay $40 for a stupid scanner...