Notices

Will this volvo turbo work on my D16?

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2010, 02:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will this volvo turbo work on my D16?

I just purchased a 95 Civic DX coupe with a D16Z6 & manual transmission swap. This is my first Honda. I do have some basic prior turbo experiance with my old 88 Chrysler Conquest TSI but that was a turbo car from the factory with a Super 14G added before I bought it. I am a professional mechanic/shop owner, I have a lot of general automotive experiance and a good amount of general mod/racing experiance but mainly with V8 domestics. I have been searching the boards for a few weeks now and I have some questions maybe you can help me with. The car came with some turbo kit parts. The turbo it came with is a Garrett with a .42/.48 AR. I think this is a T3 style? The car also came with a cast manifold, a set of DSM injectors, a 2G modded DSM BOV, a blank chip set with adapters and the car already has a walbro 255 fuel pump installed and an adjustable FPR. This car will serve as my daily driver/ posible auto-x learning car. My goal is 180-200 wheel HP once the turbo is installed. I know this turbo is on the small side but it came from a Volvo 740 as far as I can tell which has an engine thats bigger then 1.6L. I want a turbo with little to no lag that will get on boost early to provide good power across the rev range for tight auto-x courses. I'm not really worried about huge peak HP, more about a good flat torque curve and even horsepower without a huge hit when the boost comes on. I am also not looking to spend a ton of money on modding this car as I am primarly building my RX7 and Camaro to be my serious road/auto-x car and drag car respectivley. That is why I would like to stick with a used turbo as long as it will meet my goals effectivly. If this turbo is not sufficent what would you recommend I look for? Since this turbo is aready apart I am going to rebuild it (I have someone to re