Notices

well thought out high cpr fi questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2013, 07:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default well thought out high cpr fi questions

ok so to start off i would like to say i believe this is a topic many overlook i am no expert actually looking for peeps to fill gaps and correct wrongs in my knowledge.

ok so first my engine b18b block, gsr head, pr3 pistons, type r crank, gsr rods
zeal auto werks has a calc for b engines which claims its a 12.03:1 compression (while my engine builder could be wrong he says 11 7 1) my engine was tuned at lth at about 190hp since then it has has a jdm type r trans installed

My first thought was to cam it but........ is it possible to stay at my current compression ever so slightly boost to create more power more resonably?

what i have put together why low boost is EASIER to boost
ok so here is where most of my thinking has really been. so givin that turbo is running good and all here what goes on in the engine. 1. turbo raises compression 2. premature combustion is what causes unreliability in FI engines. 3. premature combustion is caused by to much compression causing fuel to combust. ([B]now i have no idea where fuel comes into play[B]) so from this i can MAYBE conclude a engine with a lower compression premature combust at 18psi boost while mine is maybe 6psi(just examples) so its easier to tune down the low cpr one cause you could maybe go like 13 14 for dd and stay safe were that about same proportion goiong from 6 to 5 at mine and the abiltiy for a waste gate to control psi that precise may be harder?

questions i can think of: how do i determin prmature combustion rate of 93 pump gas

ok and this is what i really wanna know!
my engine cpr at varius psi
1psi=12.85:1
2psi=13.67:1
3psi=14.49:1
4psi=15.30:1