Notices

turbo b16 engine code

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2010, 06:10 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default turbo b16 engine code

Ok, im new to the turbo scene, but ive done a fair amount of research but im still no god.

i currently have a jdm b16 in my 90 hatch, have it converted to obd1 p72 for an ecu and currently running a safc2 for a basic tune(IK IK everyone thinks there crap so i dont need to hear that). aem wideband's in there too. motors stock as far as head and block go. recently installed a 16g with a 2.5" downpipe just to get started. Ive got the car running and the major bugs worked out. i ran the car for a few days without touching the map and quickly found out that thats no good( kept getting check engine code). put a map bypass in from blox today, thinking that would fix it.

what happens is that i run for a few mins fine, drive slow for say maybe 5 mins, then the car sorta studders for a moment and then i get the check engine light and run real rich on the afr. like 10. i leaned down the settings almost to stock thinkin maybe i was too rich for just plain driving, but it didnt help.

when i do get goin and up into boost i obviously run lean( 15.7-16+) but i need some dsm injector clips cuz i have 440s but they dont clip in and ill wire up the injector box.

any idea of what could still be causing this?
thanks in advance
Old 09-13-2010, 06:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: turbo b16 engine code

for one you are running the wrong ECU. P72 is for a GSR with secondary Butterflies.

You do Need bigger injectors, would recomend a fuel pump.

the OEM MAP is good to around 11 psi of boost. Missing links are a past time. now we have several affordable sensors

You do Need a Tune and let someone with knowledge tune it
Old 09-13-2010, 07:21 PM
Trial User

ok, well i have access to get a po6 chipped for a 16g. would that help me out for a start and get it tuned? or what would be ideal to look for?
Old 09-14-2010, 01:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member