Notices

Surface gap spark plugs? Any experience?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2018, 06:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Surface gap spark plugs? Any experience?

Mainly used in outboard marine but the big nitrous v8's use them as well as nascar. Some nitrous guys say they gain more power since they can add timing. Just not much info out there, seems like folks don't want to spread the word lol very secretive. Anyone have experience with them? Haven't found any cross reference charts that relates to vehicles just marine applications.
Plan on running between a 100-150 single nozzle dry shot with id1000 injectors and neptune in a crx hf. I know with h22's and nitrous, its usually plugs or ringlands that kill them. Thinking the ringlands break because the piston rings need to be gapped a bit more and not because they're weak but idk. I've never used nitrous, complete noob, just planning everything out before I start, thanks.
Old 10-07-2018, 10:32 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 36 Likes on 35 Posts
Default Re: Surface gap spark plugs? Any experience?

There's two main reasons why nitrous is harder on internal parts then other forms of forced induction, one is the massive spike in instant torque it provides, the other is if it isn't properly setup using a rpm window switch or engine management to control it (like just running it on a button lol) and then hitting rev limiter on the spray.

Your best bet to keep the motor alive would be ensuring you have a safe ring gap, running a progressive controller that can ease the nitrous in and running higher octane fuel that will definitely withstand the added cylinder pressures.

Running a good sized dry shot and using the injectors for the fuel is the best way to do it. I set up a k20z1 Teg on kpro on a hundred shot and it felt nasty. It pulled like a turbo car when it hit in 3rd gear and it hooked up really well on the street.