Notices

question on building head

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2007, 02:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question on building head

I wanna know if there is different between building a head for NA and building the head for FI? i know that there is a big different on building the block but about the head it should be same since both need better flow (cams, valves, ect...)
Old 02-08-2007, 06:21 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: question on building head (CRX 2.0V-T)

IM no expert but this is my knowledge.

If your keeping the same size valves, it all depends on how high you plan on reving the engine. If ur taking it up to 10k all day you dont want valves that are only good to 9K. Springs and retaniners should go along with the valves.

As for cams, there is a difference. Some cams have a longer duration over others meaning some are for turbo apps. and some are all motor. I dont know the details and how exactly it works but this is what i understand.

please feel free to correct me as im just building my first motor now.
Old 02-08-2007, 06:27 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: question on building head (dohcdelsol)

i have all motor cams in my "turbo car"

Old 02-08-2007, 06:35 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: question on building head (dturbocivic)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by dturbocivic &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">i have all motor cams in my "turbo car"

</TD></TR></TABLE>

i always thought that was the difference. guess i better do some hardcore researching befoer startin on my head build.
Old 02-08-2007, 11:38 AM

what's your power goal? What turbo are you using?

Adding CFM to your head is not necessary to have more HP, but it will help in those larger HP applications, such as 400+