Pros and Cons Of sleeveing an LS block vs a GSR block?

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2009, 07:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pros and Cons Of sleeveing an LS block vs a GSR block?

Hey Guys I'm new to Honda-tech and somewhat new to the Honda scene. I'm putting together a new project car for myself, and wanted to know if there were big differences between the a LS block and a GSR block when it comes to having one sleeved. I have an LS short block in my garage that I plan on having sent out to get a set of Darton Mid sleeves but I wanted to seek advice from some of you guys who have much more experience then I do. Does the GSR block have anything beneficial that I should know about that the LS block doesn't?? should I ditch my LS block for a GSR block or is the LS block with Dartons going to be able to take as much abuse as a sleeved GSR block. I'm trying to avoid spending $1200 having my LS block sleeved and then finding out it would have been better to just pick up a GSR block and have that sleeved. If it helps my plans are to run between a 67mm to a 72mm turbo b16 head big cams and all the supporting mods.

Thanks for any advice in advanced and yes I have searched, and I'm also new the Honda scene but not new to the car modding scene I currently own a 400whp big turbo sti and before that I had a Built wrx with a PT67 stright cut gears etc.
Old 12-02-2009, 07:57 PM

Default Re: Pros and Cons Of sleeveing an LS block vs a GSR block?

the GSR block has the block main gridle that does great to tie up the bottom end and strengthen it. People have put tons of power through sleeved LS's without a issue though. If both blocks were at your disposal, gsr, if you were to vtec head it you dont have to do the LSVTEC conversion to the mtoor
Old 12-02-2009, 08:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I thought I read somewhere that Golden Eagle uses the LS block for their blocks that get sleeved. What "project dc2" said about the girdle is right on though.