Notices

Re-Build, Searching for 500+whp

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2011, 06:21 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon7 Re-Build, Searching for 500+whp

Hey guys, i'm finally gonna put my car back together after a couple year break playing with my jeep. I started playing with my civic back in 2002 after the first big Fast & Furious movie and thought i was cool, lol.

Friends and I had fun thinking we were fast for a while and then 2 years after that i swaped out my d16/auto/Nitrous for a LS/Manual Trans & Boost. I blew up a lot of crap learning durring that time period but had a very strong 12 sec car. I think thats when i had the most fun with the car.

Anyways, a couple years ago I aquired "Beast" motor from Mr. Gasket. It consisted of a Dart Block, with poorly assembled internals, as well as a Dart CNC port & polished head with some horribly cut cams. It was setup with I-beam scat rods & domed pistons for NA use. I swapped out the pistons & rods with some Eagle H-Beams & CP 9:1's and had some fun with the motor for a little while but it just wasn't right. The alignbore was off and i had failures.

This brings us to present day. I'm 27 years old. I've got some help from a well known muscle car engine builder in my area. I've been spending a lot of time learning different aspects of motors that i never really thought about before. He is going to help me with my assembly. He has a lot of measureing instruments beyond the digital caliper & plastigauge that i've used in the past. I hope to get this thing together properly and enjoy the summer with the car. It's going to be a weekend warrior that might come out to play in the evenings after work. Pump gas only, it's staying as a street car. I do have a set of slicks for the car for when it goes to play at the drag strip but it's focus is fun fast street warrior.