Notices

Ignition-related misfire at light/medium load and low rpm's possible?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2018, 10:24 AM
2x0
Honda-Tech Member

Received 70 Likes on 58 Posts
Default Ignition-related misfire at light/medium load and low rpm's possible?

I have pretty much exhausted all other options for what could be going on in my CRX, which feels like a shudder or shaking only under certain loads at certain lower rpm's (like 2000-3000). It clears up once the rpms increase. I am a newb at ignition systems but am wondering is it even possible for an ignition-related misfire to present itself in this manner? And if so, where do I start looking for signs about what could be happening? Would prefer not throwing more parts at it, but if there is some quick and easy stuff I can replace I will try it.

It has NGK bkr7e-11's gapped around .020, running e85, and everything else in the ignition is OEM as far as I can tell. Tuned on Hondata S300, the tables look clean. I've checked some datalogs and nothing presents itself, no weird sensor readings or anything. The car idles, cruises, and accelerates at WOT perfectly. It's only when I start getting on the throttle during normal driving, usually after 2nd and 3rd gear shifts that it'll studder.

Would a video help to diagnose? Been fighting with this, asking for opinions, had mechanics drive the car, etc for over a year now.

Here is the background info/why I am now considering an ignition problem:

- I've already replaced everything in the drive train. Tranny, clutch, flywheel, axles, mid shaft. It has new wheels, balanced tires, ball joints are good, everything feels solid.
- I've already checked out the fuel system for any issues. Checked pressure while driving, cleaned injectors, new filter.
- Engine mounts are all good. They are solid rubber inserts, no cracks and I've had them all apart already.
Old 03-23-2018, 09:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 255 Likes on 223 Posts