Notices

going turbo now

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2005, 06:47 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default going turbo now

hey guys. i just completed my mini-me swap(took forever). anyways, i also have a turbo kit ill be throwing on real soon. the kit includes a rhb5 turbine with no external wastegate, smi,dsm bov along with the piping,etc. ill be using a fmu and a missing link. okay, before you guys rip on me for using crappy management, im saving money for the hack. anyways, i think that 8 psi is a little too much.ive been reading a lot about how vacuums affect boost and should be fixed right away. so i was wondering if i could drill a small hole(maybe 3mm or 4) on one of the pipe for small vacuum leak, causing the boost to go down a little bit? i dont have any dough and i need this car for a daily driver as im a student. you guys see anything wrong with this setup(besides the obvious i mean)? the reason for the small drilling is ill fill it back up later when i have decent management.
thanks
Old 02-04-2005, 06:56 AM

Default Re: going turbo now (98_civic_dude)

good question, ill see if anyone I know has the answer and hit you back up soon. I just have some questions about the swap, actually a lot. Do you think that its a good idea to get this swap since my head gasket blew? I know someone who has an extra D16 head. Also, how much of a gain did you feel? Was it great? And I heard that you must remove the oil jet between the 2nd and 3rd cylinder or something, is this true? Do you have any suggestions on how to avoid any future problems with the swap, for instance, things i made need that I may not have thought about? Sorry to be so inquisitive, I just need someone who has sucessfully completed the swap to help me out, thanks if you took the time to read and answer me.
Old 02-04-2005, 07:04 AM

Default Re: going turbo now (4door_ridin)