Notices

Downpipe leak!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2006, 10:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Downpipe leak!!

Whats up guys i know im sounding like a noob here considering i just posted about why my turbo would not spool well came to find out when i was pulling off the lift it got caught and riped off! Now I see i have a leak on one of the welds on the downpipe i tried to weld it to fill it up but all it did was make it bigger. Do i have any other options to patch it up? Thanks
Old 02-21-2006, 11:08 AM
fjt
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Downpipe leak!! (rlyoung)

Any leak after the turbo(I.E...Downpipe)..its not or shouldnt be significant... but any leak before the turbo(I.E. .. Manifold..Manifold flange to turbo) will hurt big in spool and hp loss
Old 02-21-2006, 11:19 AM

Default Re: Downpipe leak!! (fjt)

yea i know the leak wont affect it much i just hate the way it sounds ya know im just looking for some suggestions about how i should patch it up. Thanks
Old 02-21-2006, 11:22 AM
Honda-Tech Member

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by rlyoung &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">yea i know the leak wont affect it much i just hate the way it sounds ya know im just looking for some suggestions about how i should patch it up. Thanks</TD></TR></TABLE>

Maybe you should get a new downpipe or have the old one repaired.
Old 02-21-2006, 11:24 AM

Default Re: Downpipe leak!! (espanol)

i was thinking about a new one but my turbo seems to be backwards compared to most... my intake side faces the passenger side and the hot side is on the drivers side. Thats the only reason i havent bought a new one. We tried to repair the one i have now but it doesnt wanna hold the weld. im thinking about welding a small plate of metal to cover the hole, Good idea?
Old 02-21-2006, 11:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member