Notices

closed oil catch can idea *Steamed Rice* (if it works, it creates cleaner blow-by pressure for your

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2007, 04:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default closed oil catch can idea *Steamed Rice* (if it works, it creates cleaner blow-by pressure for your

Hey guys, as some of you know i'm a noob here, but i've been trying to think of ways to run a cleaner closed catch can system with legit vacuum sources... and i needed some advice from some experienced techs to verify my logic.
i think i've come up with yet another way to provide PCV during boost pressure (i'm gunna be using this for my set up in 2 months if this looks like it will work, if it's not unique, don't flame please... it would be nice to know that i found a set up that i think would work for me )!:

SOAK IT ALL IN...

Under normal operation, the intake manifold provides vacuum pressure to alleviate the build up of crankcase gasses via the PCV system right?. As shown in the illustration below, the oil catch can system retains a large amount of sludge that would otherwise contaminate the induction tract beginning with the intake manifold. However, on normal closed catch can systems, while under boost (a high pressure), vacuum (a low pressure) in the intake manifold is lost; pressurizing the crankcase ventilation system again because it has no vacuum source (power loss right?).

Suction created by the downward motion of the pistons is vacuum pressure (duh), so it's a good source for your catch can system when your not in boost right? BUT from other threads ( https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1199935 ), i found out that during boost the intake manifold loses it's vacuum properties.... so where does this blow-by go? no where right? We need a constant vacuum source under boost now. I used the compressor side of the turbo for this.