Notices

Budget boost

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2006, 07:57 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Budget boost

Well ok im gonna throw this out there and see what i can get.

Ok i took my pay check and headed out to the junkyard with a 300 dollar budget.

So here goes

Picked out a turbo, BOV from a eclipse for 125
side mount cooler from a talon 30
some manifold off an eg that was wasted 30
boost gauge with a broken lens 15

Yea so thi sis going to go on the d15.. since im new at the budget boost i know i still need things, anyone got any suggestions what else, do i need another ECU or is stock ok? can i get a wastegate off anything that will be salvagable, should i get a higher flow fuel pump? and will i need any other fuel management up front? im not gonna spend more than 500 on this boost since its on a d15 play car.

Thanks guys.
Old 01-26-2006, 09:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

spend more money to buy the good and new ****. dont buy the used stuff from junkyards
Old 01-27-2006, 03:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

If you're going cheap, I guess you could top it off with an FMU and an inline fuel pump which will let you keep the stock injectors and ecu. Don't try to run it without any kind of fuel managment or it will blow up and also keep in mind that you shouldn't try to go above 7-8psi with an FMU.

You'll also need some oil feed and return lines, downpipe, wastegate, dump tube, map bypass/missing link (only if you use FMU), intercooler piping, piping couplers, and a bunch of misc. items like vac. hose and fuel line.

I hope you have a welder or know someone that can weld, because having a downpipe made can be pricey and it's pretty well impossible to have one pre-made since every setup is different.

I can't imagine that you'll be able to stay under $500, but good luck.
Old 01-27-2006, 05:48 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (bubs)