Notices

Measuring P2V Clearance Using 'Check Springs' - Need Some Help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2015, 06:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Measuring P2V Clearance Using 'Check Springs' - Need Some Help!

Ok, so I'm building an all motor, high compression B series. I understand what P2V clearance is, and why it needs checked, but I want to make sure that I'm doing it correctly.

I do not prefer to check the clearance using clay because number 1, being a CNC machinist, I don't feel that measuring something that's squishy is going to give you an accurate measurement, and number 2, everybody says to measure the clay with a set of calipers, and calipers aren't that accurate - at least not as accurate as a set of micrometers would be.

I've decided that I would like to check my P2V clearance using the 'check springs' that came with my Xenocron Tuning Solutions cam degree kit (great kit by the way - I highly recommend it). I want to make sure that I'm doing this the right way though, and here's how I'd be doing it: