Notices
Acura Integra Type-R All Integra Type R Discussions

Changing Rotors .... Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2004, 01:35 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing Rotors .... Question

I am changin the rotors because they are warped. My question is, should i replace the brake pads also? I checked the brake pads and they is more then 50% of pad life left.

Also this is my first time changing my rotors, i have done pads before, is there any tips you guys got for me, any beware ones??
Old 06-18-2004, 01:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Changing Rotors .... Question (valentinecr)

leave the pads.

use the proper tool for the rotor screws or drill them out. you can replace them if you want but you don't have to.
Old 06-18-2004, 01:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

If I were you, I would change both rotors and pads for brand new units. This would maximize both rotor/pad life and cause even wear on both units.

However, it is not necessary to change the pads. Unless the pads have uneven wear. Hey..it might of contributed to your warped rotors
Old 06-18-2004, 01:54 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Use an impact screwdriver to get the rotor screws out, don't replace the screws with the new rotors, they serve no useful function. When the rotors are off, if you track your car at all, this is a good time to cut your front dust shields off.
Old 06-18-2004, 02:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Changing Rotors .... Question (Batoutahell)

I was curious about cutting the dust shields off, mine are all fubar'ed. Will there be any adverse effects with the brake dust getting all over the brake lines and etc...?
Old 06-18-2004, 02:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Changing Rotors .... Question (Comp97GSR)