Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

Looking at a 2000 integra gs-r with some work done to it, but motor problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2019, 06:58 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking at a 2000 integra gs-r with some work done to it, but motor problems

I have been eyeballing this car for a few weeks and I want to get it. The owner says he believes the valves got bent. I have no experience with dohc engines, but I am willing to learn. For 2000 usd, should I get it and repair it, or should I pass on it?
Old 05-15-2019, 07:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 272 Likes on 260 Posts
Default Re: Looking at a 2000 integra gs-r with some work done to it, but motor problems

Originally Posted by Zacht0423
I have been eyeballing this car for a few weeks and I want to get it. The owner says he believes the valves got bent. I have no experience with dohc engines, but I am willing to learn. For 2000 usd, should I get it and repair it, or should I pass on it?
I would pass on it, bent valves means a full rebuild of the engine which will be in the range of $2500 to $3000. The body of the car is worth usually around $1,500 to $2,500 depending on how good the condition of the body is. The 2000 and up models have a different engine computer and have a immobilizer that makes replacing the ECU or key a pain. If the body is all original and in good condition you could have the engine rebuilt, if indeed it has bent valves there's a small chance all you need to repair is the top half or the cylinder head and the bottom block can be left but usually the bottom end will need to be inspected and repaired as well, its always a good idea to just rebuild the whole engine.