Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Welding/Fabrication
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2006, 08:22 PM   #1
Garage is empty, add now
 
SRBB6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lakewoood, CA
Posts: 44
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default A little off topic: Cost of having a 230 volt outlet installed in a home garage (compressor related)

I want to get a bigger compressor for my garage now that Im starting to paint more and more. Im going to have to have someone come out and do some electrical and was just curious as to what Id expect to pay to have a outlet /source capable of running a 230 volt compressor installed?
SRBB6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:29 PM   #2
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gilbert, AZ, USA
Posts: 45
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

Depends if the main line to your house has enough current capacity for your needs. If so, its relatively cheap as they just add another breaker to the main and run it to the garage (your house likely has 220 for the dryer and maybe water heater). If you need more current, then you gotta run a new line from the street, put in a new main, and wire from there - that adds up quick in both materials and labor.

Sam
Sam Lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 09:45 PM   #3
Garage is empty, add now
 
SRBB6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lakewoood, CA
Posts: 44
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Sam Lin)

I know we have a 220 for the dryer in the house. What would a rough figure be to have it ran off of that line?

Im asking because I dont want to even consider going all out on a compressor if its not going to out weigh the cost of making it work.
SRBB6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:01 PM   #4
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Motorhead_AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ, U.S.A.
Posts: 416
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Sam Lin)

I just did this today. I added a 50A breaker to my main and ran the wire to my "work shop" with a 6-50 receptacle. It cost me $98 in parts, and I had an "electrician" friend of mine help me. It took us (mainly him, I was just providing moral support, LOL) 4 hours to do it, but we were talking and joking and what not. So if a prepared electrician does the job, it would probably take him 3 hours to do it. Down here, I think the going rate $75-95 an hour for this sort of work.

That was the good scenario. The bad one is when your main has no more room for new breakers. That's when you have to either upgrade the whole box to a bigger one, or change the regular breakers to Tandom breakers to make room. Upgrading the box is VERY expensive (probably around $3000 or more) and it usually takes 2 days to do (2 days with no power). The Tandom breaker route is the easier option if your main is maxed out. Those Tandom breakers are $20-30 a piece and replace 2 of the conventional 110V 20A breakers.
__________________
I SOLD MY SOUL
FOR ROCK 'N' ROLL

1941 Dodge Truck - Never Ending Project
Motorhead_AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:04 PM   #5
Garage is empty, add now
 
SRBB6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lakewoood, CA
Posts: 44
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Motorhead_AZ)

What about something like this:

http://www.oselectronics.com/ose_p136.htm

?
SRBB6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:15 PM   #6
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Motorhead_AZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ, U.S.A.
Posts: 416
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (SRBB6)

Those transformers won't work. The reason for it is, if you're doubling the voltage, you cut the current by half (power equation, with the assumption that the power factor is 1). A regular household circuit has 15-20 amps. If you put one of those things in to bump up the voltage to 240, you can only draw 7.5 to 10 amps out of it. Most of the 240V compressors (like the 60 gallon ones they sell in Home Depot) draw 15 amps contineous.

Just have a company that gives free quotes come and tell you what needs to be done. Then call around and find the company that charges the least for labor.
__________________
I SOLD MY SOUL
FOR ROCK 'N' ROLL

1941 Dodge Truck - Never Ending Project
Motorhead_AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 11:07 AM   #7
Garage is empty, add now
 
8mpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 149
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Motorhead_AZ)

Id do it myself if I were you. You can spend little as $20 doing it if you put the outlet near the breaker box. Its actually relatively simple and not a lot of worries if you have a main breaker to the breaker box so you can shut off all the elec...

Just like Motorhead says, install a breaker, drop some 10/3 wire down the wall from the attic, wire it into the breaker like the rest of the breakers, pop on the power adn viola, you are in business. If you got a ton of money to waste, get an electrician. I got quoted something like $200 to run a damn 230v 10 feet away on an adjacent wall to the breaker box. I did it for $50 or so with a 20ft extension chord too.
8mpg is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
230, 230v, add, compressor, cord, cost, extension, garage, install, installed, line, outlet, outlets, run, volt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:08 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 AC1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details