Transmission & Drivetrain Gearboxes, Differentials, Clutches

Quaife LSD - Bad Installation?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2017, 07:34 AM
utn
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quaife LSD - Bad Installation?

So I think I must have made a super rookie mistake when installing my Quaife ATB differential in my D17 transmission (SLW/PLW X7B - '01 Civic HX 5 speed).
This is the first transmission I have rebuilt and changed a differential in. I am not an expert, or professional, just a hobbyist with a factory repair manual.
So, I replaced all synchronizers and bearings in the transmission, along with new carrier bearings for the Quaife differential.
Put it all back together (didn't measure any shims/clearances because I felt like rolling the dice), it shifted and rotated fine on the bench, and seemed good to go, but now I'm getting some real bad issues
On first drive I heard a clicking sound that would increase in volume and rate with the speed of the car, regardless of what gear was selected, even neutral.
I hoped maybe it was a CV joint that got tweaked wrong when re-installing or a bent dust shield from either the clutch area, or brake rotors.
So I attempted to diagnose it by jacking the front of the car, running the engine, putting it in gear, then stopping the rotation of one wheel at a time. When stopping the driver side wheel the sound went away. When stopping the passenger side wheel the sound/clicking got louder.
So I attempted to pull the driver side axle out of the transmission and I was not able to remove it. In the past with my old transmission axles were easy to pop out with prying with a large screw driver, but last night nothing I tried worked to remove the axle from the transmission.
To further complicate things at some point while letting the car run off the ground, the differential appears to have locked up. The front wheels will not rotate independently of one another, whether the transmission is in gear or not.