Notices
Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

Flywheels, what can I expect?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2003, 12:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flywheels, what can I expect?

I did a search on this topic but couldn't really find the info that I need.

I'm currently running in Street Prepared because I have Tein coilovers. I had the Teins before I got into solo2. Since my clutch is about to go I'm planning to get an aftermarket clutch and flywheel combo. My question is what can I expect in terms of time will I be able to shed with a flywheel and clutch combo?

Since I'm a rookie and because of the class I am in I'm not competitive at all (also besides the coilovers I only have an I/H/E in my 99 EX). Would it be better to just sell my teins and buy koni and lower springs to run in STS or STX and just get a factory clutch to replace the one I have currently?

I'm still in the learning process so any opinions and information is greatly appreciated.

Old 05-31-2003, 04:05 PM

Default Re: Flywheels, what can I expect? (SuperRice)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by SuperRice &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">
Since I'm a rookie and because of the class I am in I'm not competitive at all (also besides the coilovers I only have an I/H/E in my 99 EX). Would it be better to just sell my teins and buy koni and lower springs to run in STS or STX and just get a factory clutch to replace the one I have currently?
</TD></TR></TABLE>

This sounds like the best idea right here. You'll be able to compete with cars you should be competing with, and you'll save a lot of money since you won't need to modify your car just to have a chance. A better clutch and lighter flywheel won't mkae a difference at this point since you're still learning how to drive; go to STS/STX and focus on your driving.