Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

increasing displacment

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2001, 03:46 AM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default increasing displacment

i am about to rebuild my 94 ls engine because it has 120k miles on it. I am puting higher compression pistons, titanium vavles and valve springs. I am planing on resleeving it instead of boaring it out to increase displacment Is it possible to put a bigger sleeve in the block instead of boaring out the new one? If so what size? and what sized pistons? im not new to the whole integra thing. True i am olny 17 but i know alot about tegs. I am new to the whole engine rebuild so if you could put your comments in Laymans terms that would help out.
Old 11-27-2001, 05:49 AM

Default Re: increasing displacment (integra81)

Increasing the displacement of your LS engine will make the engine unbalanced. The crankshaft was created with enough weights to counter vibrations created by the pistons. If an engine is not balanced, it will create a lot of vibrations which will
1. Shorten the life of the bearings.
2. Annoying to drive because the car will be buzzing at higher rpms.
You increase the piston size, then you will also have to increase the mass of the crank weights. A good machine shop should be able to do this.... Expensive tho.
For the money that will be spent, might as well get a type-R or a GSR engine and do external bolt ons.
You are more assured of engine longetivity and reliability.

Old 11-28-2001, 03:26 AM
New User

Default Re: increasing displacment (johnd)

i dont have the money to buy a new engine should i just get get new pistons??
Old 11-28-2001, 06:22 AM

If you cannot afford to buy a motor, do not try to modify the internal parts of the engine because it will cost almost the same amount of money as buying a motor.