Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

V-AFCII SI Q:

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2005, 03:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default V-AFCII SI Q:

first off, im sure this question has been asked before and is some were in the millions of pages archives in HT but i couldn't find it. -sorry

I rode in my friend's Si today, don't know the year (2000gen whatever that is) anyway i noticed he had a Vtec V-AFC-II in his car that he bought for $300 just to have the vtec controller. I have never worked with afcs before but i do know enough to know that its a complete wast to buy one just for the vtec controller.

-correct me if I'm wrong:
The AFC connects to the "map" sensor on the manifold, taking reading and changing them before sending the signals back to the ecu. thus giving the ability to change the A/F ratio. right?

at current, he has the vtec set at 6Krpm LO->HI and 5.5Krpm HI->LO i always thought that it was better so set the vtec a little lower but i don't know for sure...

I know its impossible to answer this Q: 100% without being on a dyno but is there a rounded number to go by as far as the fuel %??? anyone know from previous experience? please don't post bull. and please don't flame me for posting this Q: thanks,
Old 03-15-2005, 03:32 PM

Default Re: V-AFCII SI Q: (hks85)

It all depends, yeah they say to set it a little lower, but is that all he has done?
If he has a bigger fuel pump, injectors, intake, etc.

It may be more beneficial for him to have it set higher.

A kids eg we tuned with an h22 in it, we set it at like 5.3k??? I think from lo->hi, and like 5.1k hi->lo

That was best for his setup we found out without dyno tuning.
Old 03-15-2005, 05:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: V-AFCII SI Q: (Not_So_Average)