Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

New Member - Some Questions

Old 03-21-2008, 03:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Member - Some Questions

Hi everyone, trying to tread carefully as this forum seems to have pretty strict rules. Anyways...

I have a 1998 Civic EX Coupe which from what I have read has the D16Y8 VTEC motor, which also from what I've read on these boards seems to be a fairly workable platform. Now I have limited mechanical knowledge (Did a bit of work on a 1985 Honda XR250 Dirtbike) but have a friend who has built up 2 honda's and would hopefully be able to help me. Here are some questions I have that I couldn't find on the forums.

What are some good brand names to look for as far as engine performance? I am looking to make my car fun to drive again, not really showy.

Also how much money would it take to bring my daily driver up around 220-240 horsepower? I read in a sticky that this can be done on stock internals with a turbo at about 8psi, but it didn't have anything about cost.

One last question, my car just hit 83,000 miles, and if I was preparing to go FI or other performance mods, what other things should I worry about breaking?

Thanks for any help and hopefully this is the right forum / questions and hope I don't get negative feedback, haha.
Old 03-21-2008, 03:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New Member - Some Questions (sarNz)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by sarNz &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Hi everyone, trying to tread carefully as this forum seems to have pretty strict rules. Anyways...