Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

...Tranny issues :(

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2008, 05:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ...Tranny issues :(

Ok, so I am completely willing to admit that I am a noob when it comes to transmissions, specifically working on them, so to cover my rear end I had it worked on. I could have sworn that it was the throw out bearing making the noise, when the clutch pedal is all the way out it rattles like a marble in a tin can. So, after already spending roughly 600 they tell me that the sound is still there. I had the problem appraised and it is looking like 900 in labor alone. Oh yeah, and the guy said it was the input bearing, I believe. I haven't really searched quite yet but I am willing to hear all plausible advice, buy a new one, refurbished one, just have the work done or possibly find another shop at a cheaper price.

Almost forgot, I have a 96 Civic Ex with a 98 GSR swap, so a y80 transmission.

I wouldn't be surprised if I have made some errorous statements but we all have our days...or weeks. Thanks
Old 06-03-2008, 05:16 PM

Default Re: ...Tranny issues :( (infinitypro12)

if the sound continues instead of happening and going away when the clutch is pressed its the pilot bushing. this is the bushing that supports the input shaft tip. this bushing is located at the rear end of the center of the cranksaft, its pressed into the crankshaft.
Old 06-03-2008, 05:16 PM

Default Re: ...Tranny issues :( (fastrc2)

bump
Old 06-03-2008, 05:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

[/QUOTE]if the sound continues instead of happening and going away when the clutch is pressed its the pilot bushing. this is the bushing that supports the input shaft tip. this bushing is located at the rear end of the center of the cranksaft, its pressed into the crankshaft.[/QUOTE]