Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Thinking of fixing up my car, where to start?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2008, 07:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of fixing up my car, where to start?

I have a '93 Si (this) and I love driving it, but it has it's list of problems. Some of the problems came with age, others are due to the moron that owned it before me. I'm still not sure if I want to fix it up or if I should just sell it and go for another 5th gen hatch. I've got about $1300ish to spend right now, so I was wondering where to start (if I decide to fix it up). Keep in mind I'm still a newbie when it comes to this stuff. I can change my oil and bolt up and exhaust just fine, but that's about it.

My main concerns:
-For starters third gear grinds, I've just started double clutching 3rd, but I want to just get a new tranny. If I got a new tranny should I, or would I need to get a new clutch? Also right now I have a 'ghetto' short shifter, just the stock shifter chopped shorter, would I need to get a new shifter or would that come with the new tranny?
-I have a newish Apexi WS2 on the car and it rubs against the frame near the rear of the car. I don't know if it is just crappy alignment or if it's due to my header being really low (DC 4-2-1) and throwing it all off. So basically I'm looking at buying a new header (something I have wanted to do for a while) and getting the exhaust taken care of at a shop if the header doesn't solve the problem.

And a little less important:
-The front bumper is cracked a little and spray painted, it looks crappy, but it works for now. I was thinking of just buying a new bumper.
-The drivers side speaker went out and I'm considering just getting a new deck and speakers for the car, how much would it cost for a decent system? Nothing too fancy.